Weekly Photo Challenge: Fun

I know I have shared this painting before in my post about humor for pain management. But it was just too appropriate for this week’s photo challenge theme, so bear with me one more time!

For those who don’t know the story behind this painting, I have described it in detail in my original post (linked above), but here is a short version:

On a recent vacation with my friend’s two young daughters, my husband and the girls decided to play a silly joke on the server by dropping all our spoons in our glasses. The confused look on the server’s face as she tried to gauge the bizarre situation without letting it show in her voice was classic! It was a supremely dumb joke that then became a bit of the tradition with the girls. And since then they have sending us spoons-in-glasses pics from many of the restaurants they now visit.

In order to commemorate the birth of a new dumb tradition, I painted them the picture in the featured image and called it “The In-Joke” (for obvious reasons, since few who weren’t there to witness the event are likely to see the humor in it).

The real reason I wanted to share the painting and the associated story again is this:

I read a beautiful article today on Light Everyday about how we often fail to realize how much fun we are having, all the time, in the course of living our lives, because we get so caught up in the preconceived notions we hold of what “fun” should look like.

At my age, a “fun” vacation is marketed to look either like a luxurious girls-time-out in a beach-side spa resort with a snazzy nightlife, or an adventurous backpacking trip across the mountains at the end of which you are supposed to “find yourself” (whatever that means). Not dropping spoons in glasses with two young children at a tiny diner on a family vacation, as I squirm on the chair to try to ease my pain best I can! Yet that was one of the funnest vacations I have ever been on, and that particular memory is one of my most cherished ever, and one that we keep referring back to every time we eat out!

My current point of view, however, is relatively newly developed. For a long time, in my past life as a healthy person, I was also blinded by what “fun” should look like. And I resented the fact that I never had enough money or the personality to have it!

It is unfortunate that I had to develop a chronic illness to lift that veil off my face and finally see how much fun I was having everyday, just doing everyday things, nothing special or out of the way.

calvin-hobbes-summer-is-doing-things-or-nothing

I have fun every day, just hanging around the house with my husband, sometimes in different rooms with each doing different things, or watching TV shows/films together in bed. Nothing we do looks like “fun” – in fact we might be the definition of “boring” – but it has been a funΒ life for us in our own way!

Calvin-and-Hobbes-Summer-Vacation-Comic

As I keep coming back to this idea of finding the good things that fibromyalgia has brought into my life, finding joy in small things is definitely one of the big ones! I feel very lucky to have been given the opportunity, even if it came disguised as fibromyalgia, to realize just how much fun my life is!

Love,

Fibronacci

7 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Fun

  1. Fibromyalgia is not a very well understood condition. I am glad you keep a dose of optimism in your attitude. It can be difficult to deal with the unpleasant experiences that come with fibromyalgia because we don’t always have the solution – and sometimes our solutions don’t work. It sometimes take some hardship to realize something beautiful too. Thank you for sharing your experiences on the blog. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. So true! You have really hit the nail on the head. I try to be optimistic best I can, but I have to admit that I am not always successful at it. Every now and then, however, I have a breakthrough and I am supremely grateful for those events. πŸ™‚ I am glad you are enjoying reading about my journey towards peace on my blog. Thank you for sharing in it! I can’t express how much I appreciate the support of my kind readers and fellow-travelers. ❀

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Indeed, Laura! It is amazing how much we walk past during the course of our lives and never *really* notice it or enjoy the moment we have just had. I am trying to incorporate more mindfulness in my life so I can see the joy that is simply *in* the moment. πŸ™‚

      Like

  2. Do you read the comic Calvin and Hobbes? It’s about a 6-year-old boy named Calvin and the adventures he has with his stuffed tiger Hobbes. There is one where Calvin tells Hobbes that since summer is almost over, he feels all this pressure to do something really fun before the school year starts, and suddenly all the things he likes to do with his free time don’t sound like they are enough fun anymore. Your post reminded me of that.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. YES!!! I love Calvin and Hobbes! I think I also remember the specific story you are talking about and it certainly is very appropriate to what I was trying to convey through my post. I couldn’t find that exact comic strip but that is definitely a recurring theme with Calvin – so I found a couple of other relevant ones and included them in the post. πŸ™‚ Thank you for bringing back lovely memories of the C&H comics and hope you enjoy the two I added in here! πŸ™‚ ❀

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

