On Ducks and Perspectives

It seems somehow appropriate to discuss my aquatic physical therapy program (sort of, anyway) with a bunch of duck pictures. So here’s one to start it off with!

IMG_0530
White Ancona Duck

So because of my aquatic therapy program (twice a week), I am having to miss work a lot. Basically, I am working part time or less two days a week. I feel like I should make up for this by working longer hours or working more over the weekend. But the truth is, even though I am not working on “work” stuff, driving 20 minutes in each direction plus exercising plus showering before and after is all work for me. Those are all eating up slices of my energy pie that I would otherwise devote to work.

Lately, my whole perspective on my work has kind of changed. In the past I used to be perfectly happy working 10-15 hours a day, including most weekends. Last year, when I still hadn’t learned to quit this lifestyle completely, I was always miserable. I slowly cut back and now I feel like I am doing much better in general (fewer massive flares and lower daily pain levels on average). And now, I feel like they don’t pay me nearly enough for me to go back to being the way I was before!! At one time, I may have said I find joy in science. And I still do, don’t get me wrong. But if you asked me the top thing that I find joy in now, I would say it’s in not being in constant misery!

IMG_0446
This duck couple (male/female, yin/yang) just makes me think “balance” – that’s what I am still in search of. And then finding peace in living that balanced life minus the guilt!

I never knew how much I took for granted until I wasn’t able to do them as easily one day. Hell, some days I am just grateful for being able to get up and walk to bathroom! But do I still feel guilty about not accomplishing as much as I once used to? Yup. Do I get stressed that one day I might tick my boss off enough that I have to really call it quits? Sometimes. Am I going to kill myself over it? Not physically anyway; I have been convinced that that’s not worth it. The mental anguish, I imagine, will take longer to settle.

Well, there’s that titular perspective for ya! At any rate, I hope you at least enjoyed the (equally titular) ducks!

Love,

Fibronacci

2 thoughts on “On Ducks and Perspectives

Leave a Reply

