The Spring of Joy

A few months ago, I took an online course called A Life of Happiness and Fulfillment, which (perhaps ironically) was taught by a business school professor. As a person who thrives on cognitive therapy, I thought this was one of the best decisions of my life.

One of the “habits of the highly happy” (as Dr. Raj puts it), is simply making the choice to be happy. Somehow that made an odd kind of sense to me. Happiness is, after all, a state of mind. You cannot be smiley-happy or excited-happy all the time, but unless you are in the absolute deep dark pit of depression (and I have been there before), there is probably a little spring of joy lurking somewhere just underneath your conscious judgement. All you have to do is choose to find it and then drink from it!

Today is one of those days when I need to consciously remind myself to look for that hidden spring. On days when it seems the farthest, it may be closer than you think. For instance, with Spring in full bloom, there is so much beauty just outside the building I work in! All I have to do is choose to really see it instead of just walk by it everyday and never quite notice my surroundings. The simple act of living in the moment can bring much joy with it just by itself. When I start to wonder what the point of it all is, the grand oaks remind me that perhaps there doesn’t need to be a point. They have simply existed through droughts and hurricanes for a century and a half or more! Beauty exists in its own right and for its own purpose, as does perhaps life itself. There need not be a rhyme or reason to find joy in the moment. The moment itself might be your spring of joy!

Love,

Fibronacci

2 thoughts on “The Spring of Joy

Leave a Reply

