The Liebster Award

liebster-award

Can you imagine my surprise to have been nominated for the Liebster Award barely a couple of weeks into starting my blog?? Many many thanks to Life as a Spoonie for the kind nomination, and also for the wonderful blog! It is a refreshingly honest, unadulterated view into the true feelings of a chronically ill person.

This award has some “chain mail” set of rules:

  • The award goes to new bloggers (blogging for less than 2 years and have less than 1000 followers)
  • When you are nominated, display the badge, thank the person who nominated you and post a link to their blog from your page
  • Answer 11 questions about yourself
  • Nominate up to 11 other bloggers for the award
  • Ask your own set of 11 questions for the bloggers you nominate
  • List the rules in your blog, and provide the nominees with a link to it so they can learn more about it

Here are the answers to the questions I was asked:

Tell us 1 piece of odd info about you.

Although I am a logical adult with black belt in karate and generally not afraid of much, the bathroom and closet doors (overlooking the bed) MUST be closed at night. Also, the lights in there MUST be off. The little gleam of light at the slit at the bottom of the doors somehow reminds of the gleam of an alien ship. All I can figure is I must have repressed (wiped out??) memories of alien abduction. Yes, I know it’s a logical improbability – that’s why it’s “odd”!

If you could live anywhere, where would that be?

A tropical island would be amazing… like Nevis or the Bahamas. Wouldn’t hurt to have a mountain on it either.

What is your favorite animal?

Fish. Does that count? Dogs come in a close second.

What type of film/tv do you like?

Mystery shows, mostly British

If you could have a superpower for a day, what would it be?

Invisibility. The power of flight would be cool too. A nice combo might be if I were to become a ghost. Then I could float around without being seen.

If you could have a conversation with ANYONE living or dead, who would it be?

I can think of three: (1) The Dalai Lama, (2) Rosalind Franklin, (3) Rita Levi-Montalcini. They all achieved greatness against the face of all odds; the first as a spiritual leader, and the other two as scientists (though Franklin couldn’t get the Nobel Prize posthumously for helping to work out the structure of DNA). Their resilience and love for what they do inspire me.

Chocolate or Lemon?

Chocolate. All the way. Though lemon is nice in some things, like lemonade and chick pea curry.

If you could have any job, what would it be?

I would be love to be a professor with a genetic counseling practice on the side. I enjoy doing science and mentoring students/teaching. I think I would also like to do some outreach work as a professor. But a life in the ivory tower is not quite for me. While the job security is nice, I would like more human interaction and meaning in my work, and generally be able to feel like I can help people with my knowledge. With a Ph.D. in progress in molecular genetics and epigenetics, the genetic counseling would be an obvious choice.

If you could have a special skill, what would it be?

I would love to be able to foretell the future (if that counts as a skill). I could see that coming in pretty handy.

That, or be able to cook. I managed to go through over a quarter of my life without being able to cook anything past instant noodles and eggs. (Perks of being married to a man who loves to cook I guess!!!)

Where were you born / raised?

A small industrial town called Jamshedpur in eastern India, which has some sprawling greens and hills nearby.

If you could change 1 thing in the world (don’t overthink it, make it fun) what would it be?

(1) Make the world a less judgmental place. But that’s not very fun, so (2) Have more hotels on the sea floor with views of lovely fish and corals!

And I answered a “free” 12th question, just because I am sure almost everybody wonders about this:

Why did you start this blog?

Fibromyalgia can be a very frustrating condition in more ways than one. And developing it while in graduate school does not make it any easier. This blog is my way of taking back some control over something that can make me feel very powerless. It is also one more window into the outwardly invisible world of graduate students/scientists with chronic illnesses and disabilities.

My nominations to pass on the Liebster Award:

  1. Beyond the Masquerade
  2. Frankie Plus Me
  3. One Mountain at a Time
  4. Eccedentesiast
  5. Talking Through Life
  6. Nikki’s Confetti Life
  7. Light Everyday
  8. Loving Leisure Time
  9. Expressing the Silence of Pain
  10. jenn2dabennphotos
  11. Think Farris
  12. And a bonus 12th: Sunlight in Winter (yes, bonuses are theme for this post… somehow after teaching undergraduate freshmen for a while, you simply cannot escape the bonus bug)

And below are my 11 questions:

  • What made you start your blog?
  • Tell us a secret about yourself.
  • If you could live anywhere, where would that be?
  • What/who is your most favorite book/author of all times?
  • Think of (at least) one thing that you could be grateful for even on your worst day.
  • If you could have a superpower for a day, what would it be?
  • If you could go on a date with a historical figure, who would it be and why?
  • Painting or Photography?
  • Name one thing that made you happy today.
  • If you could have a special skill, what would it be?
  • If you could change one thing in the world (don’t overthink it, make it fun) what would it be?

That’s it! Thanks again to Life as a Spoonie for nominating me. And I hope to learn more about my fellow bloggers.

Love,

Fibronacci

6 thoughts on “The Liebster Award

  1. Congratulations. I’m much newer than you so I had no idea there was such an award. I’m pulling for you because your answer to the bonus question (12) is pretty much why I started too. What an honor. If there’s voting involved, you have my vote. Congrats again and good luck.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh thank you so much Farris!! I really appreciate your kind words. 🙂 As a new blogger, you are equally eligible for the Liebster award, and I would like to make you my 11th nomination!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

